The Week In Review, April 11-17, 2016

Research

Read two chapters of the next book I’m reviewing.

Scanned and made PDFs of chapters from Andrew Cowell’s The Medieval Warrior Aristocracy which I used in my dissertation.

Scanned and made PDFs of chapters from Emotions in Medieval Arthurian Literature, eds. Frank Brandsma, Carolyne Larrington, and Corinne Saunders for a forthcoming essay on emotions in the poisoning scene in Sir Thomas Malory’s Morte Darthur.

Read several chapters in Barbara Rosenwein’s Generations of Feeling, for the same project.

Researched Paracelsus for an essay I’m writing on his treatment of the Melusine figure.

Total research time: 9 hours

Writing

Second round of dissertation formatting revisions for submission to ETD/ Proquest. (If you have already BTDT, then you know this is a hellish process. If you have not yet BTDT, you should know, it is a hellish process. Consider yourself warned….)

Revisions to the Kingsnorth book review.

Began revisions on an article accepted R&R for Medieval Perspectives.

Total time spent writing this week: 9 hours

Teaching

College Writing I: Returned the students’ graded third essays; presentation of multimodal essays in class; went over portfolio requirements and guidelines with examples; students signed up for their individual conferences next week.

Introduction to Narrative: Finished our discussion of Hellboy; student-led discussions; students turned in their second critical examinations and worked on their final group projects.

Total Hours Spent Teaching, prepping, grading, office hours this week: 23

Service

I sat GSA office hours on Monday, attended a  TA Advisory Council meeting on Wednesday, attended an Academic Policies and Regulations committee meeting on thursday, and attended a Student Leaders’ meeting on Friday.

Total Service Hours This Week: 5

Other Scholarly Activity

I had the great pleasure of actually sitting down for lucn with my wonderful advisor on Wednesday after classes–we’ve hardly seen one another since my defense because I’ve been swamped with finishing everything up and getting my dissertation formatting revisions squared away for the Graduate school and dashing off to MITM last week, and she’s swamped as the Director of Undergraduat estudies with advising for next year’s scheduling. It’s always a treat to have some time just to sit and talk about things. In that vein, I also attended our “Women in English” gathering on Friday afternoon, where we discussed the subject of pandering–why we do it, to or for whom, under what circumstances, and the implications of such behavior in the academy–a really great, interesting discussion leaving us with a lot to mull over and consider. I completed and submitted the paperwork for my reimbursement for MITM travel and lodging, picked up my doctoral robes for graduation (!!) and updated my CV.

Time spent in Other Scholarly Endeavors: 6.5 hours

Total Time Spent on Scholarly Endeavors This Week:   52.5

Nurturing My Self

I managed to sneak in three workouts this week, including a lovely run on Thursday evening; we attended a free flute studio performance at the North Carolina Shool of the Arts on Tuesday night, and on Sunday afternoon we spent a highly enjoyable afternoon at an open-air performance of “Much Ado About Nothing” which is still one of my favorite Shakespeare plays. Knowing that next week is going to be incredibly tough on me (Individual student conferences, fifteen minutes with each student, and I have a few unpleasant discussions that I have to have during some of these meetings, which wipes me out emotionally) I also tried to nap as much as possible during the weekend. And also, I treated myself to ice cream and laid in a stockpile of wine, because April is the cruelest month and we have to do what we have to do to get through it.

About Melissa Ridley Elmes

I am a medievalist, wife and mother of two who spends her days researching, writing, teaching, painting, singing, dancing, acting and trying to find more hours in a day.
This entry was posted in The Week in Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Comments Positively Encouraged!

