New Situation, New Look!

Hi there! We’re currently in week five of classes, the leaves are beginning to turn (yes, I’ll be posting Fall Foliage photos soon!) and I have finally found a few minutes

(well, okay, stolen a few minutes)

(well, fine, stolen a bit more than a few minutes)

to sit down and deal with a pesky issue that I have been fretting over but not had the chance actually to deal with, which is that although in general I loved my website’s theme, there were a few things about it that really bugged me:

1. I HATED the way the tagline cut into two instead of appearing as a single line, to accommodate the “search” bar. This really, really bothered me, and I couldn’t find a way to address it without losing the “search” function for the site, which I didn’t want to do because it makes it hard for readers to locate things they’re looking for.

2. I didn’t like the fact that the list of pages appeared above the header image, and especially not when I saw how that showed up on a mobile phone–it took up too much space, and didn’t allow readers to get to either the header image or the material on a page right away.

3. I didn’t like the plain appearance, either on the computer screen or on the mobiel phone screen–it was just a white space with text and images, and there wasn’t a way to get a nice background color in there to make the text pop a little. I like simple, but simple doesn’t have to be boring.

4. The old theme was pretty, but I thought that it needed to look a little more polished as well, now that I am a full-time professor.

And finally, it’s been looking the same for a while now, and I just felt that it was a tired theme for me.

So, over the past several weeks, I have been experimenting with the many different themes available to WordPress bloggers, and weighing the pros and cons of each, and —voila! As of today, we have a new look.

This theme is WordPress’s “Twenty-Ten.” I love the dark green background color, I love the font choices, and I especially love this theme’s clean, polished appearance both on the computer screen and on the phone screen. I’m really digging it, and I hope that you do as well!

I took the liberty of making a few other changes to the site while I developed it on this new theme. First, the home page is now my “About” page. This is a professional courtesy to other scholars and academics who might be looking for scholarly profiles rather than for blogs. The blog is still readily accessible as one of the pages. I have also removed the images at the tops of the other pages, which were an annoyance on mobile phone and tablet screens because they delayed the reader’s ability to get to the actual information on each given page. Finally, I have added an “Ongoing Research” page, which is still under construction but will ultimately house some of the research I am doing beyond the monograph.

These changes should make the site more accessible and attractive across platforms. Have fun looking around!

Melle

About Melissa Ridley Elmes

I am a medievalist, wife and mother of two who spends her days researching, writing, teaching, painting, singing, dancing, acting and trying to find more hours in a day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments Positively Encouraged!

